Starfish Scholars: Dreams and Goals for the Future

Hello all, Henry here! Thank you to those of you who joined us earlier this month for the #StarfishSearch Scavenger Hunt. I loved seeing all your pictures and videos, and sharing in your day as you completed random acts of kindness and completed fun tasks. You guys sure made me smile! Check back next week for a review – complete with pictures and videos from the hunt!

This week, I also had the chance to connect with some of our Starfish Scholars about their life goals – where they hope to be in a few years, and what would make them feel successful, and now I’m here to share their stories with you.

First I connected with Melissa who wants to go into the medical field when she’s older. She is inspired by the people she met in her life and the struggles they faced:

28744235494_043e01c534_z“When I was ten years old I would see many sick people and many of them died due to some severe illness. This inspired me and I decided I would be a nurse or a doctor in order to cure all of the sick, and in this way find a cure for all of the illnesses and reduce the mortality rate of the country. I want to be a nurse or doctor recognized at the international level, with cures for all types of illnesses including AIDS, cancer, Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease.

I don’t want to give treatments, but instead provide cures, because it saddens me that people die. I am scared of death. I would not like to die. I eat well and stay healthy in order to not contract any fatal illness. I invite you all to take care of yourselves each day. Life is not a game, it is a gift from God and only He can fix it.”

 

What an amazing goal Melissa! I know with your hard work and dedication to the cause, you’ll go far in changing to bringing good health to those around you.

Next up, I met up with Geovanny. He sees himself as a police commander in five years. Why? “To help my family,” he explains simply. We know he’ll do his part to make the world, and his community, a safer place.

Milena has different plans. In five years she hopes to be a flight attendant:

29333944396_54718b7431_z

“I imagine myself in 5 years finishing school, graduating with all my classmates, my parents would be happy, going to university, picking a profession that allows me to be a flight attendant, this will help us see how God’s timing is perfect.”

 

 

 

My last stop on this trip was with Detsy. She has a love for children and hopes to serve them through the field of pediatrics:

29259512842_b4bed2d51f_m.jpg

When I grow up I would like to be a professional in the area of pediatrics. Since I was little I have always liked children; I always considered that they are the ones that need care and attention, and because of that I would like to be a great doctor.

I know that to be able to accomplish my goals I should focus on my studies. Right now I’m still in high school and have a few years left before I can graduate. For now I will dedicate myself fully to my studies so that I don’t have obstacles and I can achieve the goals that I’ve set.

I know that a pediatric degree requires a lot of dedication, because it’s a degree that demands a lot of time and effort, but with the help of my parents, professors and my own commitment, I will be able to become a great pediatrician.

I just love young people with BIG goals, BIG dreams, and BIG plans, and I know with commitment to education, hard work, and the support of the people around you, anyone can do BIG things. The four students, along with the rest of the Starfish Scholars will go on to do great things.

What greatness do you hope to accomplish in life? I’d love to hear from you!

All my best,
Henry

Leave a Reply

